Assassin’s Creed

Platform: PS3*/Xbox 360/PC

Genre: Action/Adventure
Players: 1
ESRB: Mature (Blood, Intense Violence, Sexual Content, Strong Language)

This is really about the first two games as a whole. I played the first Assassin’s Creed quite some time ago and was severely unimpressed. The plot was interesting, but the gameplay was repetitive, the loading screen where you run into infinity was dumb, and for some reason I could walk around during what should have been cutscenes. Even if I was talking to someone, I could be facing away and the player would speak normally. This makes no sense in such an intimate setting.

Everyone told me to play the second – it was much better. So now I have, and it still isn’t good.

Being more fresh in my memory, I can address a few things. First, the game is essentially the same, so I don’t know why it’s supposed to be so much better. I can walk around less during ‘cutscenes’, but I still do it. It looks pretty poor compared to titles released around that time. I realize a lot of time was focused on the scenery, but you have to realize that they spend a lot of time on a few specific buildings and did their research – I’ll give them that. Meanwhile, the rest of the buildings are drab and similar.

It plays like a really crappy version of Uncharted, as traversing buildings has never been quite so frustrating. The combat is a bit complicated, but I sort of phased in and out during the training, so I’ll give them that. It’s not unplayable – this much is true – but ‘playable’ isn’t a great benchmark.

Your chest at the headquarters or whatever that contains money fills up wicked fast. No way I’m wasting my time running to get it.

Speaking of wasting time, does anyone actually do the side missions? I’m pretty sure they don’t contribute to the plot, which is the only enticing part of the game. I’m sure they are repetitive since there are only a few types and there are so many of them.

The good – the plot is compelling. It makes me want to drop the twelve dollars to get this game and finish it. The completionist in me wants to collect the myriad collectibles, so there’s also that.

I see a huge potential here. The plot is great, and these games have the right idea. They’re just sloppy. Tuck in your shirts, Ubisoft, and blow me away with Revelations this holiday season.


Bottom Line: 6.5/10



This entry was posted in PS3, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

