The Next Year

2011 was a big year for video games, and so a big year for us playing them. Most people have their eyes on the holiday releases like Call of Duty and Uncharted, but who can forget that Portal Kombat also happened this year? Beginning to end, we’ve seen some of the biggest releases of video game history with more on the 2012 horizon.

It has definitely been my biggest year in gaming as I’ve decided that I want to work in the video game industry as a career in some capacity – design, journalism, I don’t know, and I don’t care, so long as I’m around them. So that means I had a lot of catch-up to do as well, as many of you may have noticed. There are some games on here that are pretty dated by the time I get to them, but I hope I offer a fresh look nonetheless. I’m happy to say that I’ve completed most everything that was out prior to 2011 that I plan on getting to which leaves lots of time for everything coming up.

Being the year that I decided to really get into gaming, it’s also been a big year for the blog – actually, pretty much the only year for the blog. So yeah. But in that year, Musings on Gaming surpassed 1,000 lifetime page views, which isn’t really a lot, but something I find really cool. So thanks to all my friends who get linked from Facebook, any followers from Twitter, and anyone who has in some other fashion stumbled upon this blog and found it to be a resource in their lives.

A quick personal shout-out – it’s the first whole calendar year I’ve been dating my girlfriend Lillie. I know she thinks the time I put into this is kind of silly and she doesn’t ‘get’ video games, but that’s one of many reasons I love her.

Andrew Reiner, who probably has no idea who I am but who I follow on Twitter and will hopefully be involved in the review of a resume that should be somewhere in his office building, posted a blog earlier this month detailing the games he championed this year – something I thought was pretty cool. So while my list is certainly not as impressive as his, I’m excited to debut the titles that I beat in 2011.

Here’s to another great year.

Alice: Madness Returns
Assassin’s Creed II
Batman: Arkham City
Beyond Good & Evil
Bioshock 2
Bulletstorm
Dead Nation
Dead Space
Dead Space 2
Dead Space: Extraction
Fallout New Vegas
F.E.A.R. 2
F.E.A.R. 3
Gran Turismo 5
Just Cause 2
Limbo
LittleBigPlanet 2
Mass Effect 2
Mortal Kombat
Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe
Naughty Bear
Portal 2
Ratchet & Clank Future: A Crack in Time
Rayman Origins
Sly Cooper and the Thievius Raccoonus
Toy Story 3
Uncharted 3

This entry was posted in Musings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

